Reelection of NC Synod Timothy Smith

The North Carolina Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA) reelected Bishop Timothy Smith to a second six-year term at its online synod assembly on Thursday, June 3, 2021. Electronic voting was secure with a password link and a unique code for each preregistered voting member. The meeting was conducted via Zoom. A secure password was sent via the Chat feature to voting members, who had received by regular mail a voter ID. Both the correct password followed by the voter ID had to be entered prior to casting the ballot.

Vice-President of the ELCA, Bill Horne, a retired Air Force officer and city manager of Clearwater, Florida, presided over the election of the bishop. The Vice-President of the ELCA serves on a part-time basis without pay.

Watch the YouTube of Vice President Horne announcing the results of the first ballot, which was an ecclesiastical ballot in which any ordained minister of Word and Sacrament on the roster of the ELCA can be nominated. Election on the first ballot required a 75% majority, which Bishop Smith received.



St Matthew's Pastor Sam Zumwalt


The Rev. Dr. Samuel Zumwalt has worked in churches for 46 years and in May 2022 celebrated the 41st anniversary of his ordination to the holy ministry. He is a member of the Society of the Holy Trinity ( In 2004, Pr. Zumwalt moved with his family to Wilmington from Texas, where he served for 23 years as pastor of small, midsize, and large congregations.